Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | March 19, 2013

I Got Knocked Down….And Out

In my previous post I had mentioned that my hubby and both my kiddos were afflicted with the flu. I was hoping to avoid that thing like the plague. I was not only taking my regular, daily multi-vitamin, but I was also chowing down on vitamin C, B’s and zinc like it was my job. I’m also very much a mind-over-matter person, and try very hard to convince myself that I’m not sick. It usually works for me. 

Except this time. Despite my very best efforts, this homegirl got knocked flat on my butt, sick. I had a fever for 5 days. F-I-V-E!! That’s a long time to have a fever! After a trip to the urgent care, and a week on an antibiotic, I’m finally starting to feel better. I have a small, lingering cough, but that’s it. 

I haven’t been that sick since 2001. Yes, I remember. Because until now, I had never been that sick, so it was hard to forget. Now, I’ll remember being sick in 2001 AND 2013. Now let’s hope I get another 12 year reprieve on being sick! 

I wanted to start this blog so I could share with you the exercises and classes I teach, as well as keep myself accountable for the exercising and running I do. In case you haven’t noticed, I have yet to post about any exercising. Darn flu! 

Sunday I went to yoga. It was my first time working out in what felt like a long time. It was nice to stretch and (try to) inhale and exhale all the toxins out of my body. I did have a hard time connecting my breath to my movements since I couldn’t breath out of my nose! Yes fellow classmates, I was the loud mouth-breather in the back of the room. My apologies. 

Yesterday, I resumed my teaching schedule. I taught my noon Nike Training Club class at our newly remodeled club. I was excited to be back with my students, even if I was getting winded just demonstrating push-ups. 

During the boys’ naptime yesterday, I did my favorite yoga video. RIght now, getting tired just walking out to the car, I’m keeping my workouts very low-impact. Which is fine, I love me some yoga. Namaste, my friend. 

Today, I taught my Silver Sneakers class (Senior Citizens), and I’m pretty sure I was sweating more than they were. They’re a very gracious group of people, and they did refrain from laughing at me in my sad state. Gotta love ’em! 

The thing is, sickness (flu, cold, sinus infection, bronchitis, what have you) will take you down. You can try and be a fighter, like me, but often times that nasty little virus will be victorious. You have to listen to your body. Rest when it needs rest. Consume plenty of fluids, and try your best (I know, we lose appetites and any appeal towards food when we’re sick) to eat nourishing, vitamin-dense food. 

And for every day that you were sick, is how long it will take you to start to get back into the swing of things. I was sick for 9 days, so it’s going to take me that long to not feel exhausted doing push-ups. 

It takes time. Be nice to your body. 

With that, I’m off to do that yoga video again, before the kiddos wake up from naps. 

Namaste. 

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Crappy Pictures

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

