Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 6, 2013

Getting Back on Track

Hello blogosphere. I took a bit of a hiatus from my new blog. Lame, I know. It’s like taking a vacation 2 weeks after starting a new job. Who does that? Apparently I do.

Well I’m back, and feeling better both mentally and physically. I posted a little while back that I had been afflicted pretty badly with the flu (read- it kicked my ass). Right after I got better I took a trip back home to good ol T-town, Ohio for my sister’s wedding.

While there, I participated in zero form of physical activity (aside from dancing at the wedding), and ate pretty much whatever I wanted. Including an entire bag of salt and pepper kettle chips. What? Don’t judge, I was just trying to put back on all the weight I lost with the flu. Or something like that.

When I came home from Ohio, I had a hard time getting back into the groove of things. I would still go teach my bootcamp, cycle and Silver Sneaker classes. I was even subbing a few extra a week. But aside from that, I wasn’t doing anything extra.

During the kiddos’ naptime, instead of being productive, I just sat on the couch and let Candy Crush absorb my time. Blah. So for most of March and April, I was just a lazy couch potato. Blah.

Then something happened. Boston happened. Boston got bombed. Runners’ safety were jeopardized. I used to be a runner. Believe me when I tell you, there is nothing like the running community. It’s awesome. So supportive, understanding and charitable.

A couple months after I had my youngest son, I was in a car accident. It messed up my back and hips pretty bad. The doctor treating me at the time told me to give up running, so I did for the most part. I’d go on the occasional 3 mile run here and there, but I put my focus into other physical activities.

The tragedy in Boston shook my inner runner to its core. My running soul became alive again. I wanted to run. I wanted to run for Boston. I wanted to run for me. The next day I went for a fun, and it felt great!

So, I’ve been teaching my classes, running, doing yoga and stretching, and of course still watching my diet, and I feel amazing. I’ve also deleted Candy Crush. If you’ve never played it, I implore you to not start. It is such. a. time. suck. Use your time more wisely. Do squats, or push-ups, or hold a plank for a minute. You’ll feel more accomplished after that versus passing level 65 on Candy Crush. I promise.

I always tell my students, it’s easier to stay in shape, rather than trying to get back in shape. So very true. But now that I’m getting back in shape, my body feels strong and healthy. Especially with summer coming. Who doesn’t want to look good sporting cute sundresses in the SoCal sun?!

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Crappy Pictures

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

