Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 7, 2013

Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That- Breakfast Edition

ImageI hear all the time from my clients, friends and family members how they don’t eat breakfast because they “don’t have time”.

I believe you have time for anything if you plan accordingly, and make time. I’m sure you have all heard the saying, “Failing to plan, is planning to fail.” And I like to tell my clients, it’s not about finding time, it’s about making time.

Breakfast is a very important meal. It does a body good. Your body has been “fasting” all night, so it’s important to “break” that “fast”, and feed and fuel your body. You need to eat breakfast within 90 minutes of being awake to get your metabolism going.

I know, I know, we’re all busy, all the time. Especially the mornings. Those dang mornings can be so hectic trying to get out the door, and the time just flies by. I get it. I know what it’s like. I have 2 small children that I have to wrestle to get dressed, brush teeth and hair, and get out the door to make sure Big Brother gets to school on time, and I get to work on time.

On crazy mornings like that, who has time to cook oatmeal, or scramble eggs? And let’s be honest here, cereal is not a good breakfast food. It tends to lack in protein and fiber, and usually carries a good amount of sugar.

In comes my solution (remember that whole plan ahead thing?)…….make your breakfast the night before. Say whaaaaaat? Yes. Make it the night before. Enter overnight oats. The easiest, bestest (yes, that’s a word, I said so) thing ever! You throw all the ingredients together in a bowl, preferably with a lid, let it set in the fridge overnight, and the next morning, voila, breakfast!

Now don’t forget to set your coffee maker the night before, as well. Whoever decided to put that little “delay brew” button on the coffee maker is a genius! Thank you delay-brew-button-maker! I am eternally grateful!

Ta-da! You wake up, coffee’s ready to go, and breakfast is made. All you have to do is open your eyes and mouth just enough to make sure your coffee and oatmeal actually make it into your mouth and not dribbled down the front of your pajamas. Not that I’m speaking from experience. I’m never clumsy, and I never spill food or drink down the front of my clothes. Never.

The thing I love about oatmeal, is it’s such a blank canvas. You can do whatever add-in’s you want to make it delicious. Although, might I advise you stick to healthy ones. Please no chopping up Snickers bars, stirring it in your oatmeal, and thinking you have a healthy breakfast. I don’t care how you rationalize it, Snickers bars are not part of a balanced meal even with the milk chocolate and peanuts. Not that I’d know anything about rationalizing eating candy bars. I have never done that. Ever.

Anyways, I digress. Here’s what I typically like to put in my oatmeal. You can copy, or use it as inspiration to make yours with whatever (healthy) ingredients you like.

Ingredients:

*1/2c old fashioned oats

*3/4-1c liquid (water, milk, almond/soy/coconut milk)

*1/2tsp cinnamon

*1tsp honey

*1/4tsp chia seeds

*1/2tsp ground flax seed

*1tbsp golden raisins

*1tbsp unsweetened flaked coconut

*1tbsp sunflower seed butter (or other nut butter- peanut butter, almond butter, etc.)

Throw it all in a bowl, put the lid on, put it in the fridge. The next morning you can eat it like this, or warm it up. Also, you can always add a little extra liquid the next morning if you find it’s too thick for your taste.

Alright, no more excuses. Make this tonight before you go to bed, and your morning will run so much smoother tomorrow! Plus, you’ll feel more energized starting your day with a good, fiber-rich breakfast! Don’t say I never gave you anything. ; )

Buon Appetito!

Responses

  1. My husband eats oatmeal every morning, usually with apples and a little maple syrup. Do you buy gf oats?

    • Yeah, I get my GF oats from Trader Joe’s. They’re less expensive than the Bob’s Red Mill ones.

  2. Hey guess what I’m eating popcorn and reading about you, feels like I’m in the room with you.

  3. […] Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That- Breakfast Edition (ohgalinsocal.wordpress.com) […]


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Crappy Pictures

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

