Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 8, 2013

You’ve Got to Move It, Move It, or You’ll Lose It, Lose It

Ahhh, it’s Wednesday. I love Wednesdays. It’s my day off. I don’t have to go to work, or teach any classes.

Well let’s rephrase that….I don’t have to teach any classes on Wednesdays. I still have to work. When you’re a full-time mom to two little boys, you are always working. (As I’m typing this, my little one just spilled an entire bowl of Kix cereal all over my kitchen floor.) “Mothers of little boys work from son up, til son down.” Truer words have never been spoken.

ImageI

I love Wednesdays because I don’t have to work. I can put on regular clothes, do my hair and make-up, and prove to the world I don’t look like a gym-rat all day, everyday. However, I hate Wednesdays because this is the day my children seem to want to misbehave the most.

Image

It’s had to capture a pic of a flailing, tantrum-throwing toddler

The screaming and yelling is escalated (we’re Italian, we’re always screaming and yelling. Our poor neighbors.), the fights are multiplied (and they fight a lot), and my patience seems to fizzle by 8am (and I’m not blessed with the virtue of patience to begin with). I love/hate Wednesdays. I’m bipolar about Wednesdays.

So this morning amongst the screaming, fighting, pushing, shoving, cereal/yogurt/box of crayon spilling, I thought I was going to lose it. By 7:53am!!! Yes, we’re early risers in this house. Some of us not by choice. Ahem.

Ok, well maybe I did lose it. More screaming and yelling ensued. This time it was on my part. Hey, I can’t help it. It’s in my genes. I’m Italian and Irish. I’m about as fiery as they come. I blame my parents.

I decided I needed to reclaim my sanity. Or what little amount I still possess. It’s amazing the things kids can ruin- sleep patterns, furniture, your bladder, your once decently-healthy mental state.

After I dropped Big Brother off at school, Little Brother and I drove over to the Rose Bowl. I plopped that cute, yet unruly, little blonde child in the jogging stroller and took off.

Image

My running partner

I ran to save my sanity. I ran to save my children from a crazy mother. I ran so my husband doesn’t come home from work to a cranky wife. I ran to get those endorphins pumping.

Because in the words of Reese Witherspoon’s “Legally Blonde” character, Elle Woods, “Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people don’t just shoot their husbands.” Or kids. Or horrible SoCal drivers.

And guess what? It worked! I did a quick 3+ mile run, and afterwards I felt great!

IMG_1860

I ran an average 8:48 pace. Not bad considering I was pushing 50+ pounds of toddler and jogging stroller, uphill for a little over a mile, while running into the wind. I’m not exaggerating here. That really happened! Run mama, run!

So, if you feel like you’re about to lose it (your sanity; your mind; your marbles; your good judgement, etc.), get out there and move it!

How do you reclaim your sanity?

Responses

  1. I regain my sanity by running. It sets my soul free instantly. Of course my kids are much older (19 and 14) so I can leave anytime I feel the need — 🙂

  2. I wish I could say run, but my knees are not a fan. So instead of run, I walk, listen to music, or just plain leave my house. If i stay, I don’t yell but I make myself miserable.


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

