Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 9, 2013

For the Love of Books

IMG_1863

Yesterday my Big Kid had a book fair at school. I promised him we would go. It’s a great way to support his school and their fundraising efforts. So much better than selling overpriced boxes of chocolates. (I say this knowing come the Fall, I’ll be hitting you all up to buy oodles of See’s candy bars.)

IMG_1875

Plus they were having a buy one, get one free. On books! I love a good sale. Especially on things I love and enjoy that seem like an indulgence. Ya know, instead of the BOGO on heads of iceberg lettuce or toothpaste.

And it brings me such joy, and warms my heart to see how much my son loves books. I love books. I’ve downloaded several iBooks on my iPad. But it’s just not the same as a tangible book. I love the feel of the pages, the smell of them. I just love everything about books.  I love to read. I love the way a well-written book can invoke all kinds of emotions in you. <nerd alert>

I am totally that person who will take the book over the movie. My husband is not that way. He’s the movie guy. He’d prefer to sit down, devote approximately 2 hours of his time, and find out who done it. He finds it amusing how I will torture myself for days reading a book (especially since I prefer to read thrillers), and obsess about figuring out what happens/who did it/do they find the girl/do they catch the guy/etc.

IMG_1874

While perusing the book fair, I don’t know who was more excited- him or me. I felt like a kid again, at my Scholastic book fairs. He was very careful, and patient in his choices. At that moment, our roles were reversed. I was the maniac shoving books in his face, “What about this one?! This one looks good, don’t ya think?! Ooh look, this one’s about a dog who goes hunting for dinosaurs! We are so getting this one.”

Meanwhile, he was quiet, and thoughtful, “Mmm, no mommy I’ve already read that one. We got it from the library, remember. No, I don’t want to read a book about a bear’s loose tooth.” How was he so calm? We were buying B-O-O-K-S! Food for the mind. Fuel for the imagination. And they were on S-A-L-E. Really son, I expected a little more enthusiasm from you.

Finally, we made our choices. And yes, we did end up getting the one about the dog who goes hunting for a dinosaur. How could we not?!

We walked away, me $13 lighter, him 4 books heavier, and all of us excited to get home and find out what happens.

IMG_1866

Best $13 I’ve spent in a long time.

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

