Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 13, 2013

The Mother of All Days

Yesterday was Mother’s Days. I love Mother’s Day. I hope all you mama’s out there had an awesome Mother’s Day. You deserve it. This mothering stuff is hard business.

My birthday used to be my favorite day of the year until I became a mom, and for my first Mother’s Day my husband completely doted on me the whole day. Well that set the tone for all subsequent Mother’s Days!

After I had my first son, I quit my job and became a full-time stay-at-home mom. I think when my first Mother’s Day rolled around my husband wanted to give me a “day off”. Or as much of one as I could get,  because let’s face it, mom’s NEVER get days off!

Image

So he took care of all the cooking, cleaning-up, and diaper duty that day, while I relaxed and enjoyed reading or watching my favorite movie or tv show. My expectations were set. Thank you husband!

My husband is an amazing cook. I love it when he cooks for me. That was one of the many reasons he won over my heart. When we we dating, and even first married, he did all the cooking. When I quit my job, I took over that responsibility. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m a good cook as well. He’s just a little better. : )

When I was in college I was a waitress. I remember the restaurant I worked for telling us all, that unless we had a note from the hospital or God, to not even think about asking for Mother’s Day off. It’s the number one day for dining out, even surpassing Valentine’s Day. All those mamas don’t want to cook on their special day!

Once I became a mom, I decided I didn’t want to deal with all those crowds, so I’d stay home and have my man cook for me. Plus, my children are at that age where it’s not enjoyable to take them to restaurants- they’re too fidgety and loud. It’s not fair for anyone- us, them, fellow patrons, to take them out to eat.

My favorite thing my husband makes is his macaroni and cheese. So delicious, so delectable, so cheesy, so fattening. It’s a very special indulgence that we reserve for this one special day a year. And it’s so worth waiting all year to have it!

Aside from my amazing dinner, here are the other things I enjoyed on my Mother’s Day:

Per my request, I slept in past 6:30am. I didn’t get out of bed until 7:20! Lazy.Bum. It felt amazing!

My husband made me coffee and breakfast- a delicious frittata with onion, spinach, basil, ham and ricotta.

Image

After breakfast we headed to the gym so I could enjoy some yoga. On Sunday’s I enjoy taking yoga from this amazing instructor named Melvin. He’s all about connecting the mind and body. It’s a great class if you’re looking to disconnect from all the loudness of the outside world and just enjoy the quiet and calm of your inside world. Perfect class for Mother’s Day.

Image

After that we ran to the store, picked up the ingredients for dinner, stuff for lunch and a blow-up pool and water toys for the boys. It was hot yesterday!

While the kiddos played in the pool, I was busy doing this:

Image

Reading, sunbathing and drinking a glass of wine. A girl could get used to this!

I also snacked on some of these:

Image

My favorite chips EVER!

Don’t judge. Mother’s Day is all about (over)indulgence. I said so. I earned it. My husband said so!

While the kiddos were napping, I treated myself to some girl treatment.

Image

In a house full of boys, girl treatment doesn’t happen all that often. It’s all about sports, super heros, cars and farts. I can hold my own, and keep up for the most part. I usually get lost amongst the farts.

Later that day, came my favorite part…..DINNER! My husband outdid himself. It was deee-licious! Worth every calorie and saturated fat gram. Gluttony at it’s best.

Image

It looks too pretty to eat….nah, nevermind. Let’s dig in!

Image

Gluten-free 6 cheese lobster mac & cheese.

I wish there was smell-o-blog. Or taste-test-o-blog. You all really need to try this! But sorry kids, I won’t be sharing this recipe. I know, sad news. It’s not my recipe to share, it’s my husband’s. Plus, according to him, there really is no recipe. He just kind of wings it every year. But now that you all know what I’ll be indulging in each and every Mother’s Day, I probably should start expecting dinner guests. ; )

Aside from my food-gasmic dinner, I also received some very thoughtful cards and gifts.

Image

Mother’s Day gifts from my boys

I got a homemade teapot card and magnet from Adam, a funny and very fitting store bought card from both boys, a very sweet card from my very sweet hubby, flowers and a gift card for a manicure and pedicure (yay, more girl time!). It was perfect. I’m so very thankful for all the love and appreciation they showed me yesterday.

But my favorite gift of all, was these little buddies showering me with hugs, kisses, unconditional love and smiles.

Image

I love Mother’s Day. Best. Day. Ever.

How did you spend your Mother’s Day? 

Responses

  1. Happy Mothers Day ♥ Ohio misses you but its so great seeing you and your beautiful family DOING LIFE!!! God willing, see you in SoCal for a vacation soon!

    • Yes, Yvonne, please come visit soon!

  2. Glad you had a great Mother’s Day!

  3. […] The Mother of All Days (ohgalinsocal.wordpress.com) […]


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

