Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 16, 2013

Day Off Wednesday

Happy Wednesday! Happy Hump Day! Happy Double-Ad Day at Sprouts! Whatever Wednesday means to you, I hope you had a happy day! 

Image

I love Wednesday’s. It’s my day off. I think I wrote about that last Wednesday. However, last Wednesday I did end up working. Last minute I subbed a Nike Training Club class. It was all good, it was for a good friend of mine, who had an injury (that she faked so she could lay on the couch and watch hockey play-offs. whatevs). Just kidding Lady T, just kidding. 

Today, today I did not have to teach. Don’t you just love your days off?! I know I do. 

To start my day, my breakfast this morning was overnight oats. But I changed it up today (well I guess technically last night, since I prepare it the night before), and ohhh emmm geeee, was it delicious. I will, I must share the recipe with you. The breakfast world will be a better place because of this recipe. 

Image

After I share this recipe with you, I encourage you to stop whatever it is you’re doing, go prepare it, then go straight to bed so you can wake up in 6-8 hours (depending on how long your children let you sleep), and enjoy this bowl of oatmeal. 

I know, you’re probably all wondering “what is wrong with this girl that she gets this excited about oatmeal?!”. It’s the little things in life, folks. Find great big joy in the little things. Like oatmeal. Or not catching ever dang red light on your way in to work. Or that Coffee-Mate coffee creamers are on sale 2 for $6. Score! I should own stock in Coffee-Mate. Or they should at the very least give me one of those “Buy 10, Get the 11th Free” punch cards. The way this mama drip-lines coffee, I’d be cashing that bad boy in every 2 weeks. 

After loading up on coffee and breakfast, it was time to drop Big Kid off at school. Then Little Bit and I headed over to the Rose Bowl. I went for a run with this little sleeping beauty,

Image

 

Image

 

I went for an easy 4 mile run. It wasn’t my fastest time, but I did go a little farther than normal, so I slowed my pace a bit. I tend to stick to 3.1-3.5 miles when I’m pushing the jogging stroller. It’s a 5k loop around the Rose Bowl, so the minimum I do is 3.1, but I usually do a little over than that because that’s the extra distance to get back to my car. 

Today I wanted to see how I felt going 4 miles, so I could start to gauge exactly how far I can run pushing that 50+ pounds. And yes, every time I mention running with the jogging stroller/toddler combo, I will bring up that I’m pushing 50+ pounds while doing said run. 

That’s no joke! That shit gets hard to do after a while. OVER FIFTY POUNDS I’m pushing. That’s just a little less than half of my own body weight. That I’m pushing. While running. Those jogging strollers are heavy! They’re not motorized, or self-propelled like lawnmowers. Nope. They’re these heavy, cumbersome things that house a squirming toddler (who enjoys tossing sippy cups, snack cups and various toys overboard) while you are huffing and puffing along. So next time you see a mama running while pushing a jogging stroller/toddler combo (especially a double one!), give her a nod, smile or word of encouragement. She’s doing a challenging thing in order to experience an endorphin high. Mother runners rock! 

Image

The remainder of my day I ran some errands, hung out with an old co-worker for about an hour (so good to see you Martin!), then came home and did some mundane tasks around the house while Little Brother napped. 

After my hubster got home from work, we went out for a casual dinner at Slater’s 50/50 Burger by Design, where we met his boss, boss’s wife and another co-worker for dinner.

Slater’s is a great place. It was our first time there, and we enjoyed it a lot. The atmosphere was fun, our server was friendly and attentive, the food was great and all at a pretty reasonable price point. Plus, they won over my heart by offering a gluten-free menu. Niiice!

I ordered a cheeseburger salad- essentially a cheeseburger sans the bun, served over a bed of lettuce. But it was so flavorful and seasoned perfectly. My hubby ordered the Flamin’ Hot, which looked amazing. We both love spicy food, and I think that burger was right up his alley. Next time we go back, I’m going to see if I can get that one in a gluten-free version. Chilies, jalapenos, and habaneros, oh my! Nom nom nom! 

But the highlight of my evening was indulging in, and enjoying a gluten free beer. I haven’t had a beer in a long time, and with the warm weather lately, I’ve definitely been craving one. It was so nice to finally have one! 

Image

 

Overall, I had a great day off. It’s back to the grind tomorrow. 

Nuts for Coconut Overnight Oatmeal:

  • 1/2c old fashioned oats
  • 1/2c lite coconut milk
  • 1/2c water
  • 1tbsp shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 2tbsp golden raisins
  • 1tbsp honey
  • 1/2tsp ground flax seed
  • 1/4tsp chia seeds
  • 1/4tsp cinnamon 
  • 10 almonds, chopped

Throw it all in a bowl, stir it up, put a lid on it and put it in the fridge. You can thank me tomorrow. : ) 

What do you like to do on your day off?

 

Responses

  1. Since I have been on a perpetual day off (with only 18 days left-thanks for that text reminder A!) I have done a lot of things but not as much as I thought. I have been taking my sick dog to the doctor, who has Cushings i guess (WTF?). I have been taking my kids to various appointments (dentist, orthodontist, therapist, DMV), I literally have had at least two appointments a week related to kids. I have been taking 3 classes at CSULA. I have read 7 books and 5 plays so far (seriously). I have been making dinner just about every night from a recipe. Doing all of the grocery shopping. Working out 5 out of 7 days (lost 2 more pounds-total of 10). Going to my writing club with my teenager (who is an amazing writer). And finally, try to visit friends.

    The thing is, I don’t really want to go back to work….


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

