Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 20, 2013

Oh Sunday, What a Sunday

IMG_2094

Happy Monday! I hope you’re all not experiencing a case of “the mondays”. Big Brother was suffering from the mondays. He was having no part of this going to school business this morning. Senioritis Pre-K edition.

A few more weeks, kiddo. That’s it, just a few more weeks. Then no school for a while. Then everyday can feel like the weekend (well for him at least). The rest of us grown-ups will still be stuck in Groundhog Day. Unless you’re a teacher. then just a few more weeks for you, too. Then you get to live like it’s the weekend. : )

I have the utmost respect for teachers. I have a lot of friends who are teachers. Friends who teach any grade from Kindergarten to college. And dealing with other people’s children all day, no matter what age is a difficult task in and of itself. Then to try and teach them stuff- math, science, history, projects, field trips, performances, passing standardized tests, and just all around try to mold their minds, all while having to deal with some of those helicopter-parents…you teachers are Aaah-mazing. I could never do it. I practically lose my shit trying to do puzzles with Big Brother.

So thank you teachers for all you do. Keep up the good work. Some of us parents will miss our kid’s teachers (Mrs. Munoz and Miss Carmen you rock!!) over the summer as we figure out how to not lose our shit over a Spiderman puzzle. You teachers definitely earn your summers off in my opinion.

Since some of us don’t get to look forward to summers off, we look forward to the days off we do get- like Sundays. I love Sundays. Sundays are my favorite day of the week. They always have been.

My dad is old school Italian. In our family, Sunday is family day. My sister and I were not allowed to hang out with our friends on Sundays (well until we got into our mid-late teens, and I’m sure our attitudes were too much for our parents to handle, and they were glad to be rid of us). We went to church, sometimes went to one of our grandparents house, or hung out at home just the 4 of us- my parents, my kid sister and me.

And there was no working on Sunday. My dad hated it when I started working, and I’d have to work Sundays. My employers were usually cool about letting me rotate working on Sundays, so I didn’t get stuck working every one. Oh, and Lord help the neighbors who decided to cut their grass on Sunday. Cardinal sin.

I have very fond memories of Sundays growing up. Going out for breakfast- Al Smith’s Place was the best! Watching old movies with my mom- “To Kill a Mockingbird”, “Imitation of Life”, “Gone with the Wind” (her favorite, definitely not mine), and any Shirley Temple movie that AMC happened to be airing. Going for Sunday drives, my dad’s favorite thing to do (even with gas prices $1,000/gallon my parents still go on them! I just talked to my mom, and she told me about the Sunday drive they took yesterday!). Sometimes we would stop at Dairy Queen for ice cream. My mom’s favorite was when we would go feed the ducks at this pond, that happened to be located in the middle of a cemetery. Now don’t go getting all creeped out. We went during the day. And it’s a really beautiful cemetery, with trees, and beautiful landscaping, and a pond. With ducks. That we would feed. It’s a nice memory I swear! (Toledo peeps, you probably know the exact cemetery I’m talking about!)

Sundays were great. When I met my husband, he totally understood my love for Sundays. He comes from a very large, very traditional Italian family as well, so he was all too familiar with “Family Day Sunday”.

When we started dating, I was working retail (which I devoted a little over a decade of my life to), so I had to work every other Sunday. He was not a fan. The good thing is, retail hours are shorter on Sundays, so at least I didn’t have to work the whole day. And the Sundays I had off, we made the most of.

Now, neither one of us work on Sundays. It’s the only day of the week we get to spend just the 4 of us- Hubby, Big Brother, Little Brother and me. Some days we visit with his family, other times we do stuff around the house- grocery shopping, laundry, gardening, etc., and other times we just chill and enjoy the day. Like yesterday.

This was our Sunday yesterday:

First, we went for a run at the Rose Bowl.

Getting ready to go running

I went for my run first, while Hubby played at the park with the kiddos, then we switched. It’s so nice to go for a run without having to push the jogging stroller.

IMG_2064

Running with that stroller/toddler combo is definitely good training. My time always seems so fast to me, when I run by myself!

IMG_2065

Run, done and done.

After playing at the park, it was time to head home, eat some lunch and do a little foam rolling.

IMG_2068

A little foam roller action- it’s like a self-massage!

We put the kiddos down for a nap, Hubby wanted to catch up on the wide world of sports, so I headed outside for a little of this:

IMG_2076

Enjoying my SUNday

Enjoying my SUNday

While doing that I caught up on a little of this:

IMG_2078

Indulged in a little of this:

IMG_2082

Nothing like a good Pinot Grigio

And snacked on some of these:

Chips & guacamole, a.k.a. heaven in a bowl

Chips & guacamole, a.k.a. heaven in a bowl

If you know anything about me, it’s that my very favorite food in all the land, it would be my last meal if I were dying, I just can’t get enough of it, I’ll eat it til I bust food is chips and guacamole. Copious amounts. Keep ’em coming. And not Tostitos either. I need those authentic, restaurant style chips. So delicious. I have no discipline. The fact that I actually used a bowl and even portioned it out, as proof in the photo, is a really big step for me. Like huge. I don’t even know who I am right now. Maybe this blogging thing is making me practice better manners. Huh, how ’bout that.

After all that fun jazz, it was time to take showers and get ready for dinner.

My husband and I love this time of year in SoCal. We pretty much do all our cooking and eating (for dinner) outside. Yesterday’s menu was grilled salmon with a yogurt dill sauce, and an array of grilled veggies.

IMG_2085

Even the kiddos eat this stuff up. We were actually bargaining over who would get the last eggplant and onion. Big Brother won. It’s hard to say no to a kid who’s asking for seconds on vegetables!

IMG_2090

Big Brother feeding Little Brother a grilled onion

We were all members of the “Clean Plate Club” yesterday.

IMG_2087

Dinner, gone and gone.

And since it was Sunday, Husband and I decided to take a little drive and treat the kids to some ice cream at Dairy Queen froyo at Cherry On Top.

IMG_2093

Circus in a cup

I got what my husband refers to as, circus in a cup. Non-fat cake batter yogurt, with a swirl of peanut butter yogurt, topped with crushed almonds, coconut, dark chocolate chips and rainbow sprinkles.

Now that’s what I call a Sunday!

How do you spend your weekends? Do you have a favorite day of the week? If so, what do you typically do?

Responses

  1. Gosh hearing about our Sunday’s struck my nostalgia chord! I loved our Sunday drives and sitting on the bus stop bench eating our DQ ❤ . Hub and I have the same rules about Sunday too – funny how mom and dad instilled it in us so much that now we love Sunday's (even though as kids we would have rather played with our friends). I'm glad they were so adamant about it – we have some wonderful "memory bank" moments because of it 😉

    Geez now I'M homesick and I live just 20 minutes away – I don't know how you do it sometimes sis…

  2. Does cake batter froyo have gluten? Hmmm.

    Glad you had fun! (put some sunblock on sister!)

    • The kid working there said it was GF because they don’t actually put cake pieces in the froyo. But their cookies and cream does, so steer clear. I didn’t have a reaction, so I’m guessing what he said was true.

      And of course I had on sunscreen!


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

