Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 21, 2013

Treadmill Tuesday

Today, before teaching my Silver Sneakers class, I decided to do a little treadmill workout, get my sweat on. I ended up doing intervals, which made the time go by really fast! 

Today my intervals were 3 minute walking at a high incline, and then 3 minutes of running. 

Here is what my workout looked like:

Minutes:                                                         Exercise:

  • 1-3                                                        Warm-up walking at 4.0 mph
  • 3-6                                                        Walking at 4.2 mph at an 8.0 incline
  • 6-9                                                        Running at 6.5 mph 
  • 9-12                                                      Walking at 4.2 mph, 9.0 incline
  • 12-15                                                    Running at 6.7 mph
  • 15-18                                                    Walking at 4.2 mph, 10.0 incline
  • 18-21                                                    Running at 7.0 mph
  • 21-24                                                    Walking at 4.2 mph, 11.0 incline
  • 24-27                                                    Running at 7.2 mph
  • 27-30                                                    Walking at 4.2 mph, 12.0 incline
  • 30-35                                                    Walking at 4.0 mph down to 3.6 mph

Friends, don’t let the walking part fool you, those inclines were killer! Especially the last 2 at levels 11 and 12. I had to totally dig out my inner Jillian Michaels and start yelling at myself. I could totally hear her in my brain at one point when I held on to the treadmill for a hot minute, “Let go! LET GO!! Take your damn hands off that treadmill and pump your arms like the tough girl I know you are!”.

Seriously. My inner Jillian Michaels doesn’t mess around. She can be a real bitch motivator. But it worked, and I kept huffing and puffing up those imaginary Hollywood hills. 

Image

The 3 minutes of running actually felt like a break after the hill climbing. Whenever I run outside, especially in races, I tell myself during hill climbs, “What goes up, must come down”. It makes it a little more bearable on those hill climbs knowing they will eventually end, and you get the sweet taste of the downhill sprint. 

I ran a 10K with my husband’s cousin a few years ago, and neither one of us were familiar with the course. There were some major hills. At one point we ran a constant uphill for two miles. She got really tired of hearing me say, “What goes up, must come down. Any moment now. Any moment we’ll be heading downhill”. And then we would round the corner and we were still climbing uphill. She began to think my hill mantra was a bunch of bullcrap. 

When all was said and done, I was breathless, sweaty and felt like I had just finished a great workout! When I walked in to teach my Silver Sneakers class they were all taken back by how sweaty I was. No worries. At the end of their class, they were all sweaty too. 

So if you use the hamster wheel treadmill at the gym, or even your home, make sure to  mix up your workouts. You don’t want to constantly be walking at a 3.0 mph pace for thirty minutes at a zero incline. I hate to break it to ya buttercup, but you won’t see any results doing that same ol’ bizniz. You have to add in hills, up your pace, your mileage, or do some type of speed work or intervals. It’s good to confuse your muscles when it comes to your workouts.

Maybe one day you do a long walk or run, and your next work out you go a shorter distance, but add some sprints in there. And once that seems to easy, add more sprints or faster sprints, or through in some rolling hills to make it interesting. Keep in mind that when using the treadmill (especially if you’re training for a race), you should keep it at a minimum 1.0 incline to mimic running or walking outside. 

So there ya go regulators, next time you mount up, let that pretty little finger of yours hit that incline button on that treadmill a few times and feel the burn. Like I tell my students, If it doesn’t CHALLENGE you, it won’t CHANGE you. 

It’s good to get a little uncomfortable sometimes. It’s exciting to get breathless, feel your heart rate accelerate and get a little sweaty. Not just in your workouts, but with life in general. 

Keep that in mind the next time you accept a job offer, go on a first date or maybe decide on a new place to live. Challenges are good. Change is good. Sweaty, breathless and heart racing can be good. 

Live, love, laugh…..and of course, exercise! 

Are you a treadmill runner/walker? Do you love or loathe the t-mill?

Responses

  1. Tried this out at the gym today – it felt great and the time went by quicker because it was divided into those 3 min segments. What’s your incline for the run parts?

    • I kept it at a 1.5 incline for the runs.
      I’m glad you tried it, and liked it!


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

