Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 29, 2013

It’s His Party and I’ll Cry if I Want To

Hello and Happy Wednesday. Wednesday! Crazy how it’s the middle of the week already. I love long weekends and holiday weeks, but man do they screw me up as far as remembering what day of the week it is. And that can be dangerous, because I never know what day it is. My first question every morning when I wake up is, “What day is it?!”. It’s an occupational hazard I suppose, since every day my schedule is different as far as what classes I teach, what time I teach them and at what clubs.

We had a very enjoyable holiday weekend in our house. My husband and I didn’t have to work. We enjoyed time with friends and family. We ate waaaaay too much. Indulged in some libations while enjoying the weather. Ate a gluten-free cupcake, or two or four. Don’t judge, it was a holiday weekend.

Image

Of course we celebrated, honored and remembered all who have served our country, past and present.

Image

But the big event for us this weekend, was this little cutie-patootie turning 2. TWO!

Image

It’s so hard to believe that my tiny, precious, newborn baby boy is two! Time flies. Time flies when you’re having fun. But I think it flies especially fast when you’re raising babies. Those tiny little bundles don’t want to stay young and small for long.

Image

I am totally one of those moms who gets all weepy and sentimental on my kids’ birthdays. Especially their 1st birthdays. I cried for both of their 1st birthdays. It just amazes me how fast it all goes, and I get a little sad their not babies anymore.

Image

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy each new stage of their lives. Each new milestone. It’s so fun to see them try and accomplish new things. To hear their first words, and now being able to have conversations with my oldest, it’s awesome! I cheered them on the first time they walked, went down the slide by themselves, and rode a bike.

Image

Each time they do something new I beam with pride. But I also get a bit sad. That’s one less thing I have to do for them. Yes! But oh no. (No one warns you how bi-polar parenting can be)

To remind me of how far they’ve come, and reflect on their precious lives I watch the video my husband made from their birthday. The day they were born. Now don’t go getting all weirded out. We didn’t record the act of them being born. We recorded after they were born- when we got to hold them, their first baths, when they were all cute and swaddled, when we brought them home from the hospital.

I watch it and sit and cry. I cry happy tears because once I watch the video I remember exactly how I felt at those exact moments, and it all comes flooding back in a beautiful memory.

I cry sad tears, because oh my goodness, he was so small, and now he’s so big! And didn’t we just record this video a couple months ago? Wasn’t he just born? How is he having a birthday- AGAIN?!

I think my kids will be 35 years old, and I’ll still watch their birth day video. And I’ll still cry. And they’ll find it to be incredibly embarrassing, I’m sure.

*Sigh* That’s the thing about life. About kids. We keep having birthdays and anniversaries. We keep getting older. Our babies get older, which means we get older. Yikes! It’s a whole, horribly beautiful, wonderfully scary, exciting process. It’s a wild ride, that’s for sure. You might need a helmet.

Image

So, Happy 2nd Birthday to my sweet, cuddly, smart, curious, fearless, blonde-haired, dimple-faced baby boy. It has been an amazingly fast two years, but filled with so much fun and laughter. I couldn’t imagine life without you.

Image

I love you to the moon and back. I love you from the top of your head down to your tiny, webbed toes. (Yes, he has webbed toes. I think they’re adorable. And yes, I’m sure he’ll be an amazing swimmer.)

Image

I look forward to seeing the person you’re going to be when you grow-up. I promise to do the very best for you. And always remember, I love you know matter what.

Image

And way to show that Nemo pinata who was boss.

Image

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

