Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 30, 2013

Supporting My Habit

Good Thursday Morning! I’m still thrown off by this short, holiday week. It doesn’t feel like Thursday, does it? Especially since I worked last night, on Wednesday. On my day off. See why my week feels all thrown off?

I subbed a Nike Training Club class last night for a friend of mine. It’s at a smaller club where I don’t typically teach. I love subbing this class. They are such an awesome group of people who really work hard. 

It’s tough being a sub, no matter what type of teacher you are- grade school, high school, Sunday school, or group exercise. A sub is a sub, which means to the regular attending class members….you’re different. You’re not their teacher. I’ve been so fortunate in all of my subbing endeavors that all the classes have been very gracious and welcoming. So if you attend a class of any type, whether it be school or exercise related, and you have a substitute for the day, please, please, please be nice to them. Thank you! 

Moving on…

The club I taught at last night is located right next to a Goodwill. Whenever I teach there, I always go perusing through the Goodwill after class. My husband thinks it’s funny, because he knows that if I teach at this particular club, I’m going to come home with some Goodwill loot in tow. I once found a genuine Coach purse for $30. Score!

My usual purchase, however is books. I love me some books. I have found some really great reads at the Goodwill. 

I love buying my books there. They are very cheap, most often in very good condition, are current titles (you should see how many copies they have of Fifty Shades of Grey. sidenote: I still haven’t read that series), and the purchase benefits a charity. What’s not to love? Win, win, I say. (Another sidenote: please don’t go and get all political on me and tell me how much of my purchase goes to the actual charity, while most of it goes to pad the pocket of the CEO, blah, blah, blah. A portion goes to charity which is more than when I purchase books from Amazon or Barnes and Noble. So I still feel like I’m doing a good, charitable deed. Don’t steal my thunder, people.)

Last night, I ended up buying four books. All by Mary Higgins Clark. I had never read any of her books until I happened to pick one up at, you guessed it, the Goodwill. 

I love thrillers and mysteries, that’s my drug of choice. And I think Mary Higgins Clark writes amazing “who done its”, as I like to call them. They keep my attention, and obviously based on my purchase last night, keep me coming back for more. 

Image

When I got to the register last night, with my literary finds, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that my books were on sale! I didn’t know the Goodwill ran sales! But my books were 50% off. Score again! If there’s anything I love more than books, it’s a good sale. Now a good sale on books…..<sigh> that is love. 

Looks like I have a good start to my summer reading! 

Image

 

Have you ever shopped at a Goodwill? What did you buy? What types of books do you typically read?

Responses

  1. I choose to shop the Salvation Army on Wednesdays here in Toledo because that day is half off day! Being that I was a single mom on a budget for a very long time, I learned HOW to find some great treasures in that place!
    After i got married, it Is still a place i frequent for play clothes, kleets, books and other odds and ends where I can save money. With kids growing like weeds, why buy expensive stuff that i turn around and donate back eventually? ! Lol

  2. Great idea Yvonne! I have a tight budget myself and with being recently wed and babies to come within the near future – that is a great hint! THANKS!


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

