Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | May 31, 2013

Friday Funnies- Art Linkletter Wasn’t Lyin’

Happy Friday! Even on a short work week thanks to a holiday, you still can’t help but feel, “Yeah, Friday! I made it…it’s about time! It only took all week!”.

What better way to commence the weekend than by sharing some funny stories and having some laughs….courtesy of these two fellas. ‘Cause ya know, Art Linkletter was on to something…kids say the darndest things!

Image

These are real conversations that took place in our house this week…..

While sitting at the dinner table a few nights ago, our oldest son Adam strikes up this conversation:

Adam: Mom, Dad, I don’t want you to call me Adam anymore. I want a new name.

Husband: You don’t like your name?

Adam: No, I want to change it.

Me: Why don’t you like your name, buddy? It’s a beautiful name.

Adam (a tad exasperated): Because there’s just too many Adams. (pause, then he continues) There’s like 5 Adams. There’s me, the Adam on my baseball team, the Adam at my cousin Nicholas’ school, Big Adam (our friend’s teenage son) and the Adam on tv who eats too much food (Adam Richman from Man vs Food). That’s too many. I don’t want to be Adam anymore. I need to be called something else.

Husband: Ok, so what do you what to change your name to?

Adam (thinking): Hmmmm…..I think you should call me Spiderman.

Me: You want us to call you Spiderman?!

Adam: Yes.

Husband: Why do you want us to call you Spiderman? There’s already a Spiderman.

Adam: Because I like him. And I can run fast, and eat fast, and I like to climb, and I’m brave, and then I can fly from buildings.

Husband and I exchange looks.

Me: While I do like his name, he does have some valid points.

Image

This is his Spiderman pose. Go web, go.

***************************************************************************************************

Last night after scolding Adam, we had this conversation:

Adam (upset): You need to make me feel happy.

Me: What do you want me to do to help you feel happy?

Adam: You need to say nice things to me.    (sidenote: Whenever Big Brother says unkind things to Little Brother, I make him say 3 nice things.)

Me: Ok. I love you very much. I think you’re smart. I think (Adam interrupts me)

Adam (upset): No! Don’t say school things to me.

Me (confused for a moment. Got it. Smart= school thing): Ok. I think you have a great imagination, and are very creative, and a good drawer…

Adam (now very upset): NO! I said, stop saying school things to me!

Me: Ok, I’m sorry…. I think you run fast, you do a great job riding your scooter and would make a great Spiderman.

Adam: That’s better.

Image

We’re all about safety….sporting a motorcycle helmet while riding his scooter.

***************************************************************************************************

Conversation between Little Brother and I this morning while I was cleaning the kitchen:

LB: Pee pee.

Me: You have to go pee pee?

LB: No.

Me: Do you need to go on the potty?

LB: No

Me (I notice he is holding up his shirt): Did you already go pee pee in your diaper?

LB: No.

Me: Then what do you need, baby?

LB: PEE PEE.

Me (noticing him pointing): No buddy, that’s your belly button.

LB: No. Pee pee.

Me: No, your pee pee is in your diaper. That’s your belly button.

LB: NO. My (although it comes out sounding more like ma) pee pee.

Me: No. You go pee pee out of your pee pee. We don’t go pee pee from our belly buttons.

LB (persistant as hell): No. No bay-yee buttin (translation: 2 year old talk for belly button). Pee pee.

Me: <Sigh> whatever.

LB: Yeah. Pee pee.

Image

***************************************************************************************************

A conversation between Husband and I the other day when he got home from work and was asking how my day was:

Husband: Did you have a good day?

Me: Yeah, it was pretty good. Ya know, just hung out with the kids, taught my class, did some house stuff. Just the usual.

Husband: Anything eventful?

Me: Nah. Same ol’, same ol’. Nothing new.

Husband: That’s good. Did you talk to anyone today?

Me: Hmmm. No, I don’t think so. Oh wait….. Yeah. I talked to Mike at Poison Control. Other than that, no. Not a soul.

***************************************************************************************************

From our family to you and yours, may you have an interesting and laughter filled weekend!

Responses

  1. Poison control!? Haven’t I told you that it says “bleach” on the bottle – not
    “booze” LOL 😉


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

