Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | June 2, 2013

Namaste Sunday

Sundays are such a glorious day. It’s a blank canvas that you can paint however you want. It’s a fresh start to a whole new week. And you get to choose how to set the tone for your new week.

Sometimes Sundays are productive. They are filled with yard work, laundry or grocery shopping. Sometimes they’re relaxing- sleeping in, laying on the couch all day catching up on the DVR or movies. Maybe they’re spent with family and friends. Birthday parties, backyard BBQ’s or big family dinners. So many choices!

I think that’s why I love Sundays so much. I get to choose how I want to spend my whole day. It’s the only day of the week I get to do that. The week days, Monday-Friday, are dictated by work and school schedules. Saturdays, in our house, are still a work day, as well as devoted to Little League or soccer games.

But oh Sunday, glorious, beautiful, nothing on the agenda Sunday, is all mine. Mine, mine, mine, mine, mine.

Image

Regardless of whether my Sunday is productive or lazy relaxing, I always start it with a workout. Well, I guess technically I start it with two cups of coffee, but let’s be honest, that’s how I start everyday!

Image

Most Sundays the Hubby and I take the kiddos to the Rose Bowl for a run. I run first while he plays at the playground with the boys, then we switch off and it’s his turn to run while I monitor monkey bar crossing and curly-slide sliding.

Image

Although some Sundays, like today, I choose yoga. It’s a great way for me to be still and calm, breathe in, breathe out and let my body just flow.

I put my body through so much teaching classes, running, and toting a 24 pound toddler on my hip that I tend to have an unrelenting feeling of soreness. Alllll the time. Today I needed to concentrate on me and what my mind and body needed.

So I did just that. I inhaled. I exhaled. I stretched, extended and twisted my body. Then, at the encouragement of my wonderful yoga instructor, I laid in shavasana for a few minutes and reconnected. Reconnected to the breath, to my body and to my mind. He talked us through letting go of the distractions and wandering minds. Leave the “to-do” lists alone, forget the frustrations and irritations you may be feeling. Just breathe in the goodness the world has to offer, and breathe out the goodness you have to offer.

I love yoga. I love everything about it. I feel I stand a little straighter, walk a little taller and smile a little easier after class. I feel I leave class with a glow, and carry it with me the rest of the day. I just feel better.

So I wish that you spend your Sunday doing what makes you feel good. And to all of you, I’d like to say, Namaste. The goodness in me, recognizes and appreciates the goodness in you. Namaste, my friends. Namaste.

Image

Breathe in, breathe out. Recognize and reconnect. Namaste.

Responses

  1. Well said my friend. I love Sunday mornings 🙂


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

