Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | June 5, 2013

Workout Wednesday: Run and done

Happy National Running Day! 

Image

When I woke up this morning, I had no intention of running. My body has been very sore and achy all week. I was in a car accident a little over a year and a half a ago, and I still suffer the effects of it. When I teach higher intensity classes (hello one minute burpees!), it tends to take a toll on me.

So I had it all set in my head that I was going to go do a yoga class today. Buuuut, while sipping coffee and perusing Facebook this morning, I was seeing post after post from all the healthy living sites I “like” that today is National Running Day. <insert record scratch> Change of plans. Sorry yoga class, catch ya next week, this girl is lacing up the Nike Frees.

Image

I don’t like being left out of the party. I may be tardy for the party, but I.will.bethere.

I went heavy on the legs in the class I taught last night, so not only were my neck and back sore and achy, but so were my legs! I blame you 4 minute squat hold, and 3 minute pulse lunges, I blame you. Oh wait, I was the crazy awesome instructor who put that routine together. Dangit! I blame me, I blame meeee!

After dropping off Big Kid for his second to last day of Pre-K(!), Little Bro and I headed over to the Rose Bowl.

Image

Homeboy loves going for a run.

As I was gearing up for my run, I had to have a little inner monologue with myself. I said, “Self, we weren’t planning on doing this today. We probably shouldn’t be doing this today with the way this body feels. But we love running and we appreciate those “National Something” days. So let’s just agree to take it nice and easy. No PR’s today. Slow and steady will get it done, and then you won’t feel left out for not participating on National Running Day.” And Self, was agreeable for once and gave me the ol’ okie-dokie.

And that’s exactly what I did. Slow, steady, easy, yet enjoyable run.

Image

National Running Day 5K

I felt great afterwards, as I tend to with majority of the runs I do. Then I came home and spent about 15 minutes stretching and doing various yoga moves, which helped with the soreness and achiness. And I feel giddy because I really feel like I was a part of something today. And who doesn’t enjoy feeling like they’re apart of something bigger and better? Am I right?!

Speaking of that, if you happen to be on Instagram or Twitter, and post a picture today for National Running Day, use the hashtag #IMARUNNER, and Timex will donate $5 for each eligible submission, up to $15,000 to the One Fund Boston, which helps those affected by the Boston Marathon bombings. I posted mine! (You can follow me on Twitter @stephblasi or Instagram @stephanieblasi)

So there ya go, you can get your workout in and do something charitable! That’s what I call a good day!

There’s still time. The day’s not over yet. Get out there and get your run in. You can be all cray cray and go for a long run, or you can go for a couple mile run around your neighborhood. Heck, you can even run from your car to the front door of your house. But it’s National Running Day, people! Get out there and celebrate! (FYI, you will never see me this excited for National Donut Day, National Hot Dog Day or National Fry-it-up-put-it-on-a-stick Day.)

Image

I run because it makes my body and mind feel better. I run because I like the heart-pounding, sweaty, breathless feeling I have when it’s all said and done.

Why do you run?

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

