Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | June 6, 2013

Thirty Minute Thursday

Happy Thursday ya’ll!

Today I went for another run. Except today’s was on the good ol’ ‘mill. The treadmill. The hamster wheel. The conveyor belt for movers and groovers. The machine of mind-numbing torture. Call it what you will.

It’s funny to me how my view of the treadmill has changed. When I lived in Ohio and became a runner, I was pretty much a treadmill only runner. For the most part, the only time I ran outside was for races. Occasionally I would go to my favorite Metropark for a run. I hated running outside!

Living in Ohio, outside running was associated with Mother Nature’s less than pleasant elements and inclement weather- rain, snow, ice or the gawdawful humidity. No thank you. I preferred my controlled environment of the treadmill and comfortable 68 degrees inside the gym.

When my husband and I were deciding on whether to stay in Ohio or relocate back to his hometown of LA, one of his selling points was running outside. I remember thinking that was a terrible sales pitch since I could run on a treadmill regardless of where we lived. I specifically remember him saying to me, “When you’re running outside in February, without having to be all bundled up, you’ll love it. You’ll see.” Mmm yeah, ok.

Fast forward three and a half years, he was right. I know wives, it’s always a hard pill to swallow when we have to say that our husbands were right. But he was. I love running outside. And yes, like he said, there’s something so wonderful about going for a run in February (usually when Ohio is recording record snowfalls), without being bundled head to two, trekking through snow.

Thanks to SoCal’s glorious, near perfect climate, I run outside all the time. Now, I strongly dislike running on the treadmill. Oh good gravy can it be so boring. And time seems to draaaaag onnnnn.

Image

Now, when I do treadmill runs I have to make them interesting. I can’t just hit the quickstart button, take it to one speed, one level and just cruise for 30 minutes. No way. That’s insanity. So I throw in some hills, some speed work, maybe even some walking. Something to break up the time, and make it go faster. Last week I did hills.

This is what today’s treadmill workout looked like, before I went and taught my class:

Minutes:                                                       Exercise:

  • 1-3                                                   Warm-up, walked 4.0 mph
  • 3-6                                                   Ran 6.0 mph
  • 6-8                                                   Ran 6.8 mph
  • 8-11                                                 Ran 6.2 mph
  • 11-13                                               Ran 7.0 mph
  • 13-16                                               Ran 6.4 mph
  • 16-18                                               Ran 7.2 mph
  • 18-21                                               Ran 6.6 mph
  • 21-23                                               Ran 7.4 mph
  • 23-26                                               Ran 6.8 mph
  • 26-28                                               Started cool-down, ran 6.5 mph
  • 28-30                                               Cool down, walked 4.0 mph

It was fun. The time went by fast, and I felt like I got a good workout. I definitely was sweaty by the end of it!

Next week, I’m going to push myself, and up my MPH’s to go a little faster. Don’t worry, I’ll post all about it!

What does your typical treadmill workout look like? Are you an indoor or outdoor runner?

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

