Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | June 7, 2013

End of School Cheers and Tears

Yesterday was Big Brother’s last day of Pre-Kindergarten. He’s moving on up to bigger and better things. A.K.A. Kindergarten. 

Image

Big Brother with his wonderful Pre-K teacher

His school had a little ceremony where the kids all received certificates of completion. It was cute and chaotic all at the same time- screaming, crying, waving, yelling out for mommies. They sang this adorable song about a fish who gets eaten by an octopus, who gets eaten by a shark, who gets eaten by a whale, and so on. They all wore an octopus hat, that they made themselves. And they danced to the song as well. It was hilarious! In fact, my pictures all turned out blurry because I was laughing so hard, I could’t keep the camera still. 

Image

One of the less blurry pictures

Image

After the ceremony they had a picnic at the park, where all of us moms reminisced about how fast the year went, and how much our kids have grown since the start of the school year.

Image

Big Brother and his best bud at the Pre-K celebration

In case you haven’t realized, I’m totally that sappy mom. If I cry on their birthdays, you know I’m gonna get all verklempt on graduations. Yes, even Pre-K graduations.  

Before I had kids, I didn’t get the whole preschool, kindergarten, or even 8th grade graduation thing. I went to public school, the only graduation we had was when we graduated from the big house- high school. I would see my friends and cousins making a big deal out of their kids “graduations”, and while I played along with the hoopla, I seriously didn’t get what the big deal was. I mean, they’re supposed to “graduate” preschool, right?! Or at the very least, age out. 

Now. Now, I get it. It’s not about the “graduation”. It’s not about certificates, or songs and dances, or waving to mommy in the audience. It’s about them growing up. Going on to a new chapter in their life. In your life.  

My good friend L’s daughter just graduated high school. HIgh school! Yikes! I’m in total awe at how well she’s holding it together. While I’m fighting back getting all teary-eyed that my oldest baby is going on to kindergarten, she’s about to send her’s off to college. I’m looking at her thinking, “I can’t believe you’re about to go through this”, and I imagine she’s staring right back at me thinking, “It seems like just 2 years ago my daughter was starting kindergarten.”

It goes by fast. Crazy, crazy fast. And you’re warned. If you’re a parent, that’s one of the first tidbits everyone tells you- how fast those tiny little babies grow-up. You don’t comprehend it though, until it’s your baby doing all that fast growing-up business. 

Image

Big Brother- then

Image

Big Brother- now

Now that I’m a mom, I’ve determined that their are certain milestones that are meant for the parents. I mean, we celebrate the kids. We give them gifts, and congratulate and high-five them. But when you’re in that secret mommyhood society, you and the other moms all know the truth. It may be your kid’s birthday, but it’s the anniversary of you giving, and surviving childbirth. It’s another year you kept them alive! (That’s a pretty big deal) It may be their graduation, but it was your helping with homework, attending parent/teacher conferences and packing the perfect lunch that helped them get to there. 

So to all you moms and dads out there during this graduation season- preschool, kindergarten, high school or college- I say congratulations! Job well done. Because if it wasn’t for you, none of it would be possible. 

Image

Preschool Graduate

Responses

  1. He looks soooo big! I’m like you – while i think mini cap & gowns are silly, i get it more now than i did before. We can cry together at their high school graduations! Congratulations 🙂


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

