Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | June 11, 2013

A Bucket Full of Summer To-Do’s

Mmkay. Here we go. It’s summer vacation time. Big Brother had his last day of Pre-K last Thursday.  This week is our first full week of no school. <sigh> I miss school already.

It’s alright. Summer vacation, I’m sure, will go by crazy fast. We just have to keep ourselves occupied with fun things.

Yesterday, Big Brother and I sat down and talked about all the fun things we want to do this summer. Here is the list Big Brother came up with:

  • He wants to go to “the park that has the big circle in the middle that I can ride my scooter on, and has the fireman pole that I’m good at doing”. It’s a nearby park that has a walking/jogging/scooter-riding path that goes through the center of the park. (We went yesterday with his cousins)
  • Join the summer reading program at the library (we did that today)
  • Go to the beach
  • Go to both zoos (the LA Zoo and the Toledo Zoo- FYI, the Toledo Zoo is waaaay better)
  • Go to Disneyland and Cars Land at California Adventure
  • Spend the night at Nonno’s house (my father-in-law)
  • Go swimming with his cousins (we did that last Sunday)
  • Go to Travel Town at Griffith Park
  • Go to Grandma & Papa’s house (we’re visiting my parents in Ohio the end of July)
  • Go to Imagination Station (Ohio trip)
  • Take the training wheels off his green bike (random fact: My son has two bikes, one at our house, one at my Father-in-law’s. The one at my FIL’s has not had training wheels on it for about a year. The (green) one at our house, albeit a little bigger, still has the training wheels, because Big Brother’s not ready to take them off. Alrighty then. Well it gives us something to accomplish this summer!)
  • Get some new squirt guns “cuz my other ones are getting old, and I need some new ones”
  • See a super hero movie at the movie theater and eat popcorn

And here are some that I added to the list:

  • Go to the Long Beach Aquarium
  • Go to Huntington Gardens
  • Start going back to the local Farmer’s Markets
  • Go to a museum (there are so many out here, and we’ve only been to one. Sad.)
  • SInce our library doesn’t offer an adult summer reading program (yes, I’m a nerd and inquired about one), I would like to challenge myself to read 3 books a month.
  • Go on a date with my husband!
  • Take a girls’ night up to Ann Arbor, MI (get ready KK!) (Ohio trip)
  • Sleep in past 7:00am just one day
  • Go for a run at my favorite Metropark in Toledo
  • Take the boys to Greenfield Village (Ohio trip)
  • Putt-putt
  • Have a yard sale
  • Run a race
  • And of course, lots and lots of this:

IMG_2073

Since summer vacation in only nine weeks long, I’d say that’s a pretty good list of things to do. Especially since I have to squeeze it in between all the classes I teach. Good thing they like going to Kids Club at the gym!

This year, we’re not able to take a family vacation. My husband started a new job a few months back, and doesn’t get vacation time yet. Bummer.

Oh well. I have vowed to stay busy and occupied with all the local attractions in the LA area, as well as when I take the boys to Ohio.

And don’t you worry your pretty little head….I’ll post all of our summer time adventures!

Do you have a summer bucket list? If so, what’s on it? Are you doing anything big this summer- trips, moving, races, getting married, having a baby, etc? Or are you pulling an OHgal, and just hanging close to home? 

Responses

  1. Fun list! I put ours on my blog a little bit ago and Big sister just asked me to put “bowling” on it . . . I guess we’ll go bowling then 🙂

    • Bowling sounds fun! My parents and I discussed taking the boys when we’re in Toledo. I think that’s a back-up plan if it’s too humid to play outside! Which the end of July in Toledo, that’s a very real possibility!

  2. You forgot go to the beach!

    Fun list!

    • No I didn’t! That’s the third thing on Adam’s list!
      Thanks! Hopefully we can cross some of these of together!


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Crappy Pictures

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

