Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | June 12, 2013

Breakfast in a Jar

Image

Overnight oatmeal in a jar

 

Good Wednesday morning, friends! I hope your hump day has started off on the right foot, right side of the bed and with a happy, full belly.

As I’ve stated before, breakfast is such an important meal. And if you haven’t figured it out by now, I love me some overnight oatmeal. It’s healthy, delicious and since I prepare it the night before, it’s ready when I wake up. Score! No need to think first thing in the morning, or cook.

Yesterday, I had a practically empty sunflower seed butter jar (if you haven’t tried this stuff yet, you must!).

Image

Must not waste this

What to do, what to do with it? Hmmm. There’s still some good stuff left in there. Let’s not waste it. It’s not enough, though to top a gluten-free waffle or use as dip for an apple. Hmmmm. Yes! I know…..let’s use it as a vessel for overnight oatmeal! That way as I’m enjoying my delicioso (sorry, I might have watched one too many Dora the Explorer episodes) oatmeal, I can scrape the sides of the jar and get little bits of heaven in my bites. That’s exactly what I did.

Image

Oh little jar, I have big plans for you

I put all my yummy oatmeal ingredients in the jar, let it soak overnight, and allowed all those wonderful flavors to marry.

In this mix:

  • 1/2c rolled oats
  • 1c almond milk
  • 1tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tbsp shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2tsp chia seeds
  • 1/2tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2tbsp honey
  • 1tbsp golden raisins
  • sunflower seed butter- whatever was left in the jar

This morning, I woke up to this little magic trick:

Image

I’m gonna put a hurtin’ on you, oatmeal!

 

Breakfast bliss in every bite. I’m telling ya, after starting the day with a breakfast this good, I feel like a million bucks. I feel satisfied and energized. Like I can conquer the day! Or at least these two animals precious beings.

Image

So the next time you have an empty peanut butter, almond butter or sunflower seed butter (I can’t stress enough, you really need to try this stuff!), don’t just toss it. Throw in your oatmeal mix, and scrape the heck outta the sides of the jar to get every last yummy, nut butter bite. You’re life will be changed forever! Waste not, want not.

Image

Done and done

 

Ok kids, I’m off to spend my day off with my two little buddies. Enjoy your mid-week day, and eat your breakfast!

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

