Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | June 25, 2013

Lose the Weights

Image

Happy Tuesday, all! I hope you’re having a glorious day! And if not, well then let me make it better for you. Today I have a gift for you. Perfectly wrapped. It has a big red bow on it. You’re gonna love it!

……It’s a ten minute workout circuit that doesn’t require weights! Yes!!! How excited are you right now?! You’re very excited. Because I said so. And if you’re not, get excited! Because here at OHgal, we love exercise! It’s gonna be fun. A little sweat inducing, but fun!

Yesterday I taught two Nike Training Clubs, and for both of them I did an equipment free class. My students were a little surprised. They’re so used to using weights they didn’t know what to expect when I said to lose ’em. Don’t touch ’em. Leave ’em alone.

I wanted to show my students you can get a great workout without having to use weights or dumbbells. You can use your own body weight, and still get your workout and sweat on.

And let me tell ya, did they get their sweat on! My students had sweat-soaked shirts, wet, matted to their foreheads hair, and determined, focused and maybe even a little angry, looks on their faces. I can confidently say, my point was proven. Yes! I love it when that happens!

Now my classes are one hour long, so we did about 35 drills. I’m going to give you a shorter, sweeter version. I’m giving you 12 drills, totaling 10 minutes. You can choose how many rounds you want to do. You can have a Ten-Minute Tuesday, Twenty-Minute Tuesday or a kickass Thirty-Minute Tuesday workout.

Let’s get started. You don’t need a thing, except for a timer and a little bit of room to work. So grab your smart phone, stopwatch, or egg timer, and move the coffee table out of the way.

Ok, here goes……..

Workout:                                                                                 Duration:

  • Warm-up- Jog in place                                                    1 min
  • Warm-up- Jumping Jacks                                              1 min

******** Time to get started! Pick how many rounds you’re going to do********

  • Squats                                                                                    1 min
  • Push-ups                                                                              30 secs
  • Walking lunges                                                                  1 min
  • Burpees                                                                                 30 secs
  • Plank                                                                                     1 min
  • Jump Rope                                                                           1 min
  • Mountain Climbers                                                           30 secs
  • Side lunges (right leg, then left leg)                             30 secs/leg
  • Bicycle crunches                                                                 1 min
  • Butt kicks (jog, taking heels to your butt)                    1 min
  • Bridges                                                                                   1 min
  • Supermans                                                                           30 secs

**************Take a 1 minute rest/water break, and repeat.***************

Please don’t forget to stretch when you’re all done. Stretching is very important for your muscles to heal and get stronger.

 If you need a modification, only do it once and/or decrease the duration of the drills. As you get stronger, increase your rounds and/or duration of the drills.

Have fun my friends!

Do typically workout at home or a gym? With weights or without? What kind of exercises do you like/dislike?

Responses

  1. As you know, I love working out but lately I MISS working out 😦 Thanks for the motivation!

    • Yvonne, I’m sure you get plenty of exercise in when you’re performing on stage! I know you girl, you move it and groove it like no one I’ve ever met!

  2. I was one of those in the hour long, weight-free, NTC training classes yesterday and it was a killer! I am rarely sore, but I am feeling it today. Thanks (I think) Stephanie for a great class!

    • You guys killed that routine yesterday! Great job! And you are welcome for the soreness workout!


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Crappy Pictures

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

