Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | July 8, 2013

Seven Years

Image

 Today is our wedding anniversary.

On this day seven years ago, it was a perfectly warm, sunny day in Toledo, Ohio. We had friends and family from Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, California, Canada and England gather together to celebrate with us.

I donned a dress that I still to this day love, and if it was here in California, and not in preservation in my parents basement back in Ohio, I would wear it every year on my anniversary. My bridesmaids wore a strapless, mocha colored dress, and my husband and the groomsmen looked very dapper in their tuxedos.

Everyone was perfectly accessorized in attire, hair, make-up and giddy, excited-for-the-new-couple wedding smiles.

I walked down the aisle of an outdoor gazebo, on my dad’s arm, with an ear-to-ear smile plastered on my face. We exchanged our vows on the waters edge of the Maumee River, with the skyline of downtown Toledo serving as our backdrop.

Everyone enjoyed a delicious meal, an open bar, and endless dancing.

My husband and I still to this day say it was the best wedding we’ve ever been to. It was the most fun we’ve ever had at a wedding. A little biased, maybe? I’m sure. But we had a great day, and reminisce on nothing but happy, smiling memories.

Image

It has been a fast and furious ride since that day seven years ago, when we shared our first dance as Mr. & Mrs. to Jack Johnson’s “Better Together.”

Since that day, we took some amazing trips and vacations.

Image

We welcomed our first son.

Image

We broke my parents’ hearts, and decided to leave our home in Ohio, and move across country to my husband’s hometown in sunny, Southern California.

A couple years after that, we welcomed our second son.

Image

In seven years time, we have experienced children, moves, job changes, and financial stresses. We’ve witnessed friends’ and family members’ marriages crumble, while others have come together. We’ve been to funerals, christenings, birthday parties, weddings and communions. We’ve competed in races, both together and separately, but all the while being each other’s biggest cheerleader.

Image

We have seen the good, the bad and the ugly. We have experienced high’s and low’s. We have been over-the-moon excited, and crushingly disappointed.

We have created careers, a home, and a family.

Image

~Together we make a family~

We have created, experienced, and lived and loved life together. It has been a wild ride, but I can’t imagine doing any of this with anyone other than my very best friend by my side.

Image

It has been an amazing seven years. I’m forever grateful he asked me, and I said yes. My husband is still my very favorite person in the whole wide world. Without him, I would not have this life. My life. Our life.

Image

Anniversary toast

Cheers to the past seven, and to many, many more to come.

To my husband, I appreciate you and all that you do. I love that you are the person I start and end all of my days with. I love that no matter what happens, you are always by my side. I love that you have seen me at my best and my worst, and still love me unconditionally.

Image

Thank you for sticking by me through thick and thin, better and worse, sickness and health, richer and poorer. Thank you for always being kind and loving. Thank you for choosing me. I love you with my whole heart. And I’m excited to see what our future holds. Happy Anniversary, Husband! I love you today, and everyday.

And I want to leave you with this sentimental thought……

Image

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!

Responses

  1. Happy anniversary!!!

  2. Hope you had fun! 7 years, congrats!

    • Thanks! We had a great date night!


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

