Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | July 15, 2013

Slop, It’s What’s for Dinner.

Hi All! I’m getting ready to leave the SoCal sun, and head to Ohio’s humidity. Yay for that whole getting wrapped in a hot wet blanket feeling. Yay. Oh well, suck it up buttercup. The sacrifices we make to see our families and our drinking buddies best pals. Plus I should be used to it, right? I mean, I did grow up there!

So before I head out of town, I’m trying to use up all the perishable stuff in our refrigerator. Well most of it anyways. The hubs isn’t coming with me, so I probably should leave him some food.

Whenever I make a one-pot wonder dinner, I fondly refer to it as slop. And it more often than not involves quinoa. It always entails something I randomly throw together, involving a grain, lots of veggies, some type of dressing or vinaigrette and a protein. I know, complicated, right? <not really>

I don’t really know how else to describe it other than slop. I supposed I could call it quinoa with perfectly sauteed peppers and onions, tossed with succulent chicken, mixed with the right amount of spices and seasonings and coated in a zesty, homemade lemon vinaigrette. Seems a bit much, dontcha think? Sooo….slop it is.

Plus I just love it when my husband comes home from work and asks, “what’s for dinner, babe?”, and I get to proudly announce, “We’re having slop, honey!”. Sounds appetizing. Well friends, let me tell you, it is. This particular recipe is one of my fave’s. Husband and I call this one Decontructed Stuffed Pepper Slop. See….so much easier to just say slop.

So grab your cutting board, knife, and skillet. Let’s make slop.

IMG_2695

Ingredients:

  • 1tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2tsp oregano
  • 1lb lean ground turkey
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1 of each green, red and yellow bell peppers, chopped
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 can diced tomatoes in garlic and oregano
  • 2c baby spinach
  • 2c cooked quinoa (prepare according to package instructions- 1c dry quinoa cooked in 2c liquid)
  • 10 basil leaves, chopped
  • 2tbsp chopped fresh Italian parsley
  • 2tsp sea salt (divided)
  • 1tsp freshly ground black pepper (divided)
  • 3oz crumbled feta cheese

Directions:

  • Heat evoo (channeling my inner Rachael Ray here), in a large skillet.
  • Add oregano. Let sautee for a couple minutes, then add onion and peppers.
  • Add 1tsp sea salt and 1/2tsp black pepper.
  • Cook until they start to soften.
  • Add minced garlic. Cook for a few minutes, until it softens and becomes fragrant.
  • Add ground turkey.
  • Cook everything together, allowing peppers and onion to continue to soften, and ground turkey to brown.
  • Once ground turkey is browned, add can of diced tomatoes.
  • Reduce heat, and simmer, letting all the flavors marry together.
  • Add baby spinach, stirring until it wilts.
  •  Remove from heat.
  • Mix skillet contents in a large serving bowl with quinoa.
  • Add basil, parsley and feta. Toss it all together.
  • Then serve it up and eat it!

We grilled some squash and zucchini from our garden as an accompaniment.

IMG_2697

It was a delicious, healthy, protein, veggie and fiber packed dinner. So good! Go make this!

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Silicon Valley Meditation Teacher

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

