Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | July 29, 2013

Groundhog Day Resumes

Good Monday morning!

We are back in the land of sun, mountains and crazy drivers, a.k.a…..SoCal. We flew in Saturday night, were reunited with my husband at LAX, and drove straight home so the boys and I could hit the hay. It was midnight in Ohio time, so we were just a bit tired (that’s an understatement!). 

Yesterday the boys and I were suffering from a touch of jet lag. We were trapped somewhere between Ohio time and California time. So I guess we were on Oklahoma time? 

We spent the day hanging out as family. I unpacked our suitcases, the Hubs and I went to the gym to do a workout together, we played with the boys, everyone took naps, we took the boys to the dog park to play (after we discovered the Pirate Park at the Rose Bowl was closed due to the Jay-Z/Justin Timeberlake concert), and then came home enjoyed a backyard bonfire, roasted (gluten-free) hot dogs and marshmallows. It was a great Sunday! 

Today, it’s back to life, back to reality. Which as a grown-up translates into Groundhog Day. Same thing, different day. 

It’s back to the kids getting up at the  butt-crack of dawn, fighting over toys by 6:20 in the morning and repeated requests for Dora the Explorer and Octonauts.

It’s back to Husband leaving for work at 6:40am, leaving me in charge of our quarreling, yet uber adorable boys.

It’s back to the grind of meal planning, grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning and laundry.

I resume class designs and choreography, and teaching my classes (which after 10 days, I miss so much!). 

It’s no more of Grandma and Papa getting up with the boys, succumbing to the demands for specific Disney and Nick Jr. shows. 

No more Grandma and Papa diffusing the arguments over fire trucks, Legos, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. 

No more Grandma and Papa trying to figure out what exactly it is Little Brother wants to eat for breakfast, and which color cup Big Brother wants to use for the day. (I have some very particular children)

No more Grandma and Papa doing bathtime and bedtime. 

It’s back to normal life. And that’s ok. I like it. While I appreciate my time away in Ohio visiting my parents and getting spoiled rotten, I’m glad to be back to normal life. I love my crazy-busy, chaotic, non-stop, up early, chasing kids, and gym-hopping to teach classes life. 

Now that we are home, and back at it, I feel I need to detox the boys and I.

For them, less TV shows, and more playing outside. Less fishy crackers, cookies and ice cream, more fruits and vegetables. No more skipping naps and going to bed late. 

For me, less alcohol and carbs, more vegetables and lean proteins. Less dining out, more dining at home. More gym time, although I did get some running and workouts in while in Toledo- just not enough to combat all the drinking and dining out! And no more going to bed after 11:30pm. I know, I’m lame, but I can’t wake up at 6:20am and expect to function through the day if I’m not going to bed until midnight! 

So there it is folks…..OHgal’s house is back in the swing of things. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go break up a fight over who had the Chuggington trains first, switch the laundry from the washer to the dryer, and finish putting together my Nike Training Club routines for my two classes today. Then it’s off to the grocery store we go! 

Happy Groundhog Day! 

 

Responses

  1. Glad you had a fun trip! The post-vacation “putting it all back together” stuff is a little bit fun and a lotta bit tiring 🙂


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

