Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | August 2, 2013

One of These Things is Not Like the Other

Happy Friday everyone!

I’ve been working on an Ohio recap for you, but 1) I’m having a hard time getting my photos to upload. I don’t know what the problem is. As I’ve stated a dozen times before, I am completely technology illiterate. I’m totally a rookie at all this business (I know, understatement of the year, right there!). And 2) Little Brother has been sick the last couple of days, so I’ve been busy taking care of him.

He clearly caught some bug from the pressurized cabin of germy nastiness…..a.k.a. the airplane. I think I’m going to start making my kids wear SARS masks every time we travel.

A sick Little Brother is waaaaaaayyy different than a sick Big Brother. Fellow parents, isn’t it amusing how the same two people can make babies together, and those babies all turn out differently?

My oldest son is very much like me when he is sick. Just let me lay on the couch with my blankie and favorite movies, and leave me alone. I’ll let ya know if I need something, but in the mean time, just let me be, thanks.

He’s very quiet and lethargic. Which if you know Big Brother, he’s chatty and energetic by nature, so to see him quiet and laying still is a big change.

While it’s very sad to see my oldest buddy sick, it’s very easy to care for him. He’s so low maintenance. Just keep the Disney movies and ice chips coming, and he’ll be a happy camper. Well, as happy as one can be when trying to combat some type of flu or cold yuckiness.

Image

Little Brother on the other hand……that’s a whole different story. He is no where near as easy.

He’s your typical guy when he’s sick. He’s all whiny and cranky. Now for you guys out there, don’t harumph at this statement. You guys all know you’re big babies when you’re sick!

Little Brother whines and cries, and can’t decide if he wants to be held or sit on the couch. And because he’s indecisive and feeling sick, he just gets crankier and whines and cries some more.

He’ll demand something from the kitchen. But I don’t know what he wants, and frankly neither does he, so I have to chauffeur him to the kitchen via a ride on my hip. He makes me open the cupboards and refrigerator in search of something, but none of my offerings are to his liking, so another tantrum will ensue.

And because his head/throat/ears hurt, the tantrum aggravates the hurt even more, which causes and even bigger, angrier tantrum. You see the vicious cycle here, right?

When Big Brother is sick, he will slumber the day away. Little Brother, because of whatever yuckiness is afflicting him and causing him to be uncomfortable, refuses to lay still and sleep.

An overly tired, sick toddler makes for a, wait for it……a cranky, whiney, tantrum throwing toddler. Who’s sick. And I’m trying to keep him calm so as not to aggravate said illness. Which in turn aggravates his mood, causing more whining and tantrum throwing.

You’re seeing this theme now, right? He’s sick, angry, whining and crying, and I CAN’T DO A DAMN THING TO MAKE IT BETTER! Not popsicles, Dora the Explorer, hugs and kisses, his favorite blue blanket or children’s ibuprofen. Nada. Zip. Zilch. Nothing. We’re all just losing. And we’re tired.

So I throw him in a cool bath, cuddle him as much as he’ll tolerate at that particular moment, grit my teeth through another episode of Dora and watch the clock til Daddy comes home.

Image*SIGH*

And since this small, precious child insists on sharing my water bottle and sneezing in my face, I need to go overdose on vitamins A, B, C, and Zinc.

Stay well my friends, stay well.

Responses

  1. Hang in there mama! Hope the rest of you stay well.

  2. Hope he feels better soon.

    • Thanks! He is. Now he’s just 2. Which is pretty much the same behavior as in the post, just without the fever! : )


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Crappy Pictures

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

