Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | August 29, 2013

Let’s Talk Moves

Happy Thursday! 

It’s good to be back! My internet is back up and running after being down for a couple days, and it looks like we are getting into the groove of kindergarten. 

Image

 

And since it’s been a while, we’re going to talk about moving and grooving those bodies. And not in that uncomfortable Miley Cyrus twerking way. I think I’m still washing my eyeballs after seeing that mess. 

We’re talking working out. Exercising. Gettin’ your sweat on. 

Yesterday, I went for a 3 mile run around the Rose Bowl. While pushing my little blonde cutie in the jogging stroller. At 9:30am. In 88 degree heat. Friends, I’m not going to lie, it was kind of a struggle. I don’t do well in heat. But right when I was feeling all whiny and in “I want to quit and go get froyo” mode, I saw another mama running with her jogging stroller. Also in the same 88 degree heat. But her jogging stroller had THREE little blonde cuties in it. Yep. Her rockstar self was chugging along with her triplets. So I sucked-it-up-buttercup, told that mama she was ah-mazing and finished my hot, sweaty run feeling a bit humbled. 

After that I took my Little Bit (my term of endearment for him since he’s so tiny) to the park to play. Playing at the park with your kids is a great way to sneak in a little exercise. We were climbing the ladder to the slide, climbing the stairs up into the play structure, crossing the monkey bars and even crawling through the little maze that’s under the play structure. I may or may not have hit my head while doing this. He was having fun, I was having fun, it was a good time had by all. Minus the head bumping part. 

Even with all the outdoor activities, I still wasn’t done yet. During my little guy’s nap time, and while catching up on my DVR’ed episodes of Real Housewives of New Jersey (don’t judge), I did 3 rounds of 10 exercises. 

It looked like this:

  1. 50 Jumping Jacks
  2. 25 Squats
  3. 1 minute Plank
  4. 30 Alternating Forward Lunges (15/leg)
  5. 10 Push-ups
  6. 20 Jump Squats
  7. 15 Chair Dips
  8. 50 Bicycle Abs
  9. 30 Alternating Reverse Lunges (15/leg)
  10. Side Plank (30 seconds/side)

I took a one minute break between each round, and repeated it 3 times. I would have done it a 4th time, but my little one decided it was time to wake up from nap. 

It was a full body workout that got my heart pumping, and I had fun doing it. You can do as many, or as few rounds as you feel up for, or your time allots.

You can do this at home, at the gym, or even in your office. Well, I guess as long as you have a private office. Unless of course you want to get your cubicle mates to join you, that could be fun!  

The only equipment required is a chair, bench, ottoman or even the foot of your bed for the tricep dips. 

You can do this rocking out to music, watching your favorite trash TV, while you’re waiting on hold for the Psychic Friends Network to take your call or first thing in the morning to get your day jumpstarted. 

Give it a try, and let me know how you did. Happy Working Out! 

Image

Responses

  1. Don’t forget you were texting your awesome friend (Nathalie) about running the Long Beach marathon.

    • How could I forget that part!
      And I’m totally busted. You caught me….I wasn’t actually laying on the couch. I was making my lazy ass do some exercising. Shhhh, don’t give away my secret! ; )


Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Illustrated with Crappy Pictures™

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

