Posted by: OHgalinSoCal | February 3, 2014

Popsicles in the Winter

Hello All! Happy February! 

And I’m a tad late here, but Happy New Year! How are your New Year’s Resolutions going? I’ve been working on mine, but I’ll save that for another post. 

I wanted to share with you a recipe we’ve really been enjoying in my house. 

We have a very abundant lemon tree in our backyard. So abundant in fact, that I’m pretty sure the tree has been throwing the lemons at my kitchen window, encouraging me to come out and pick them. I’ve also taken some lemons to my classes and pawned them off on my students. I’ve encouraged my gardeners to take some. And I traded some with my neighbor who has an orange tree. A very abundant orange tree. 

So I now have an over abundance of lemons and oranges. Let me just say this, my family is so OD’ed on vitamin C that if any of us get even a sniffle, I will be so mad!

We have made lemonade, freshly squeezed orange juice, citrus chicken, lemon vinargettes and dressings….we have citrus recipes coming out of our ears! But we needed a dessert. (Before I went gluten-free, I used to make an amazing lemon cake, and lemon-ricotta cookies with a lemon glaze. I just haven’t given those recipes the gluten-free try yet. But that’s next!)

So my husband suggested creamsicles. Great idea, honey! 

While all my family and friends back in Ohio and Michigan have been experiencing the Snowmageddon Polar Vortex, we here in SoCal have been enjoying endless amounts of sunshine and up until a few days ago, unseasonably warm temperatures. (Ya know, like 80 degrees warm. Yes, I’m bragging. I know, I know, my Ohio friends don’t even want to hear this right now.) 

What better way to cope with enjoy the warm temperatures, than with creamsicles! 

And that’s just what we made! We made both lemon and orange creamsicles. Both were very good, but the family consensus was we liked the orange ones best. They tasted kind of like a Push-Up. You know, that orange sherbet that came in those blue and polka-dot tubes. (Do they still have those, or is that just a child of the 80’s thing now?)

Here are both recipes. You decide which ones you like better, and let me know!

Lemon Creamsicles:

  • 1c Freshly squeezed and strained lemon juice
  • 12 oz non-fat plain greek yogurt (I used 2 6oz containers of Chobani)
  • 3tbsp Truvia Natural Sweetner Baking Blend

Directions:

Warm lemon juice and sugar together (I put it in the microwave for 1 minute), then whisk together to blend. Allow lemon mixture to cool, then whisk in greek yogurt. 

Pour into popsicle molds (ours made 8 popsicles), and freeze overnight or at least 4 hours. 

*For best results for removing from the popsicle molds, I recommend running warm water along the sides and bottom of the mold. We just used our kitchen faucet sprayer. 

Orange Creamsicles:

  • 1cup freshly squeezed and strained orange juice
  • 12 oz non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1tbsp Truvia Natural Sweetner baking blend

(Our oranges were very sweet, so we didn’t need as much sugar as we did with the lemons.)

Directions:

Same as the lemon creamsicles. 

 

Then just eat and enjoy! 

 

Image

 

Tell me what you think

Categories

Lil' Men Coop 'N Cole

Life with one Lil' Man shifts to two

Kim Nicol

Mindfulness Teacher & Executive Coach

Jodi Ambrose's Blog

Proud to be a sass-mouth!

Crappy Pictures

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

RANTS FROM MOMMYLAND

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

STUFT Mama

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

nHerShoes

A blog about her journey as an athlete and a woman. Come step into her shoes...

Nutrition Nut on the Run

An active foodie's pursuit of a healthy life, one run at a time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Carrots 'N' Cake

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

www.hungryrunnergirl.com/

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Momastery

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

What's for Meat?

An Ohio girl's adventures in wife-hood, mommy-hood, fitness and food, all while enjoying the sunshine in SoCal.

The Next 38

After sending kids off to college, I am trying to figure out the next 38 years of my life.

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

